go to top

New 40kmh speed limit zone announced for Sydney CBD.

Roads and Freight Minister Duncan Gay yesterday announced a new speed zone for the Sydney CBD, with a new 40kmh speed limit.

“The new 40kmh limit zone will be introduced by the end of this year and will operate in the area bounded by Hay, Kent, Pitt and Castlereagh Streets, and will connect with the current 40kmh speed limit area in The Rocks north of the CBD.”

Why such a low speed?

Minister Gay cited several facts as the basis for the decision:

  1. Between 2008 and 2014, there were 7 pedestrians killed in the CBD, including 3 just this year;
  2. More than 90% of trips made every day in the CBD are made on foot;
  3. A vehicle that hits a pedestrian at 50kmh is twice as likely to cause a fatality as the same vehicle travelling at 40kmh;
  4. A driver travelling at 40kmh also has a greater opportunity to avoid a crash and any impact will be less severe.

Minister Gay noted that pedestrians need to play their part in improving road safety in the CBD.

“Pedestrians should always cross at the lights, obey traffic signals, look both ways before they cross and stay alert by not getting distracted by phones or music” Mr Gay said.

In addition to fining drivers for breaking the new speed limit, we hope that police target pedestrians and cyclists for dangerous and irresponsible behavior.

NSW Pink Slip and Licence Changes Announced

NSW Roads Minister Duncan Gay yesterday announced changes to pink slips and licence renewals.

The changes are as follows:
1. Starting from January 2015, pink slips will be valid for six months, rather than six weeks as is currently the case; and
2. By the first quarter of 2015, licence holders between the ages of 21 and 44 will be given the option of a ten year driving licence.

Read More

Lane Filtering for Motorbike Riders

Duncan Gay, Minister for Roads and Ports has announced that the NSW Government is going to introduce new legislation to allow lane filtering for motorbike riders.

The new law is expected to come into effect from 1 July 2014.

Read More