CTP Insurance in ACT

Choice of four insurers in the ACT

The compulsory third party insurance scheme in the ACT is administered by The Australian Capital Territory Compulsory Third-Party Insurance Regulator, known as the CTP Regulator.

The operation of the scheme and the responsibilities and functions of the CTP Regulator are set out in the Road Transport (Third-Party Insurance) Act 2008 (CTP Act) and the Road Transport (Third-Party Insurance) Regulation 2008.

You have a choice of four insurers licensed to issue CTP insurance in the ACT.  Those insurers are:

  1. NRMA
  2. GIO
  3. AAMI
  4. APIA.

GIO, AAMI and APIA are all owned by Suncorp and commenced issuing CTP insurance in the ACT from July 2013.

A schedule of CTP insurance premiums for each insurer is available here. Before purchasing your CTP insurance ACT, you should compare prices for each of the four insurers by clicking on that link.

Unlike NSW, premiums in the ACT are not differentiated on the basis of risk factors such as geographic location, age, driving record or claims history. In the ACT the premium for a class 1 passenger vehicle is the same, regardless of those factors.

Premiums are set by the insurers.The insurers must submit those premiums to the CTP Regulator for approval. The CTP Regulator may reject premiums if they do not fully fund an insurers liabilities, if they are excessive or if they do not comply with guidelines issued by the CTP Regulator.

CTP insurance in the ACT is compulsory and must be paid at the time of registration. The CTP insurer is shown on the certificate of registration. If your vehicle is unregistered and you are involved in an accident, you will not be covered by CTP insurance and you may be liable for damages for the injured person, in addition to a fine.

The ACT government is currently debating Motor Accident Injuries Bill 2019, which will create the MAI Commission and reform the CTP scheme.

CTP Insurance - more info

NT >

Learn about CTP and registration in the NT. read more


How CTP green slips work in NSW and how to compare prices from all insurers. read more

Qld >

Learn about CTP in Qld and how to change insurers. read more

SA >

Understand the new SA CTP scheme and how it works in the future. read more

Vic >

How CTP and registration works in Vic. read more

WA >

CTP and vehicle licensing in WA explained. read more

Tas >

The CTP scheme and how to register a vehicle in Tas. read more

CTP explained >

Why you need CTP and how it works in each state and territory. read more